Facebook

I’m not on facebook and am not a fan of facebook.  I find it to be impersonal and it promotes forming and maintaining artificial relationships. I understand that facebook is somewhat  harmless and that it is a way to reconnect with friends and stay connected with people that you would not otherwise.

Many have mentioned that facebook is safer then my blog as there are privacy settings.   You think that only your “friends” can see your page but that is not the case. I have always requested that folks not post photos of me on their facebook page but I know a few of you have (and you know who you are).  Of course you thought I would never find out since I’m not on facebook but see that’s just not the case. I know the entire cyberspace community can see my blogs but for whatever reason I feel more in control with my blog.

As I write this blog I think what bugs me is the “reconnecting” portion of facebook because I guess it seems that there are lots of “reconnection” between facebook friends in which you may have never had a real connection with in the real world.  How can you be “friends” if you have never had a real conversation with one another in years or for that matter ever?

Maybe one day I’ll change my mind and accept the request to be your “facebook friend”.  Till then I guess you will have to go through the hassle of calling, emailing and spending time with me versus posting on my wall.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

